Blog

Monday Madeleines – The Fall Foliage Preview Edition, 9/19/2011

by Mistina Picciano  ||   No Comments

After special editions for Irene and the 9/11 Remembrance, it’s time to turn to more pleasant pursuits. This past weekend gave us a taste of autumn in the Northeast. If you’re planning to take in some foliage this fall, this edition of Monday Madeleines may just be the sneak preview you need to put you in the mood to start planning your trip. Enjoy!

New Hampshire Foliage Report 2011
VisitNH.gov, the tourism website published by the New Hampshire Department of Resources and Economic Development has provided this really neat tool in the form of a foliage calendar. Hover over a date and see what the projected foliage will be like for that day. It’s a great planning tool if you’re thinking of a foliage trip to New England. Plus the site’s home page has a great foliage shot if you need a little eye candy to get in the spirit of the season. Thanks to @citypassion for sharing this.
Editor’s Note: On 1-14-2014 the visitnh.gov website was reported to be hosting malware. We have removed the links to the site for this reason. The site may currently be under a malware attack. You are free to visit the site at your own risk.

Extreme weather in the East, but fall could still be brilliant [PIC]
The LA Times interviewed Marc Abrams, a professor of forest ecology and physiology at Penn State, who said the heavy rains that plagued the region from Irene and Lee wouldn’t adversely affect the colors of the foliage this year. That’s great! So is the shot of the vivid foliage that goes with this story. Thanks to @RedCloverInn (The Red Clover Inn in Killington, VT) for tweeting this encouraging story. You still may want to check the road conditions though before heading out. Crews are working feverishly to make repairs, but may not be finished with the roads leading to your destination.

Foliage.org – The Embellishment of the Seasons
We bumped into this site as a result of a tweet from @KelseyLibert. We like it because it expands its foliage coverage across a wide area of the country, from Vermont and Maine to Wisconsin, Texas, Virginia and Washington state. Included are some very inviting Fall pics along with things to do and places to stay (think Bed & Breakfast). Looks like a good resource for planning a Fall foliage getaway.

Video of the Week

Ripple, Grateful Dead, Fall, Foliage Video Pictorial
Here’s a nicely-done video pictorial of Fall foliage in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. Photos and vocals by Andy Kohn, singing “Ripple” by the Grateful Dead. This is sure to give you a peaceful, easy feeling as you prepare for the work week and the beauty of autumn, which arrives this Friday.

Did you enjoy this week’s Fall foliage preview? Which were your favorites? Leave a comment and share your thoughts, your favorite place to go leaf peeping, your favorite tea, a madeleine recipe or even your favorite joke. No over-sharing here. (But if you somehow cross that line, we’ll let you know.)

SHARE THIS:

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Leave a Reply

Latest from the blog:

How to Connect with Readers and Grow Your Audience

Whether you run a business or a marketing team, you need a content marketing plan. Of course, developing and executing this plan is easier said than done, especially when juggling multiple priorities. Experts recommend setting aside time to sketch out topics, then writing posts and even developing general themes by week or by month. Then,…

Read the Article »

What our clients have to say:

Lucien Harriot

"I'm always inspired after a meeting with Market it Write. Mistina's insight into the needs of my company's marketing strategy brings clarity to our messaging and pushes our company closer to the high-performance business model we strive for."

 

Lucien Harriot, Mechanism Digital
Industry: Media   |   Services: Marketing strategy, marketing materials

2015-04-25T18:47:19+00:00

Lucien Harriot, Mechanism Digital
Industry: Media   |   Services: Marketing strategy, marketing materials

"I'm always inspired after a meeting with Market it Write. Mistina's insight into the needs of my company's marketing strategy brings clarity to our messaging and pushes our company closer to the high-performance business model we strive for."  

Barbara Centrella

“You made the experience fun, and you brought so much to the table—things that I would never have thought of on my own. You added a dimension that brings the work to life. I was very pleased with the first media kit and am blown away by the second.”

 

Barbara Centrella, children’s author
Industry: Publishing   |   Services: Media kit

2015-04-25T18:52:18+00:00

Barbara Centrella, children’s author
Industry: Publishing   |   Services: Media kit

“You made the experience fun, and you brought so much to the table—things that I would never have thought of on my own. You added a dimension that brings the work to life. I was very pleased with the first media kit and am blown away by the second.”  

George Donohue

“Market it Write makes the copywriting process painless. Their responsiveness and professionalism kept the project on track, despite a tight deadline. Mistina has a keen ability to understand the client’s needs, and she uses her intelligence and creativity to convey those needs in succinct copy.”

 

George Donohue, GMAC Real Estate IPG
Industry: Real estate   |   Services: Newsletters, corporate communications, investor relations

2015-04-25T18:49:31+00:00

George Donohue, GMAC Real Estate IPG
Industry: Real estate   |   Services: Newsletters, corporate communications, investor relations

“Market it Write makes the copywriting process painless. Their responsiveness and professionalism kept the project on track, despite a tight deadline. Mistina has a keen ability to understand the client’s needs, and she uses her intelligence and creativity to convey those needs in succinct copy.”  

Howard Levy

“I have known Mistina for a while and have since hired her firm on retainer to write our website copy, email newsletters, postcards and articles. Market it Write understands my business, helps develop ideas and writes great copy. They are highly professional, dedicated to their craft and easy to work with.”

 

Howard Levy, Red Rooster Group
Industry: Creative Agency   |   Services: Marketing consultation, bylined articles, blogs, website content

2015-04-25T18:47:41+00:00

Howard Levy, Red Rooster Group
Industry: Creative Agency   |   Services: Marketing consultation, bylined articles, blogs, website content

“I have known Mistina for a while and have since hired her firm on retainer to write our website copy, email newsletters, postcards and articles. Market it Write understands my business, helps develop ideas and writes great copy. They are highly professional, dedicated to their craft and easy to work with.”  

Terry Yoffe

“Market it Write was able to take the content from my last website and transform it to my new one, making the content clear, informative and to the point. The clarity of the content has been so powerful that I have gotten several new clients based on my website. I found Mistina and her team to be easy to work with and very willing to listen to concerns and objectives and work through them in a very professional way.”

 

Terry Yoffe, TRY Coaching
Industry: Professional services   |   Services: Website content

2015-04-25T18:49:53+00:00

Terry Yoffe, TRY Coaching
Industry: Professional services   |   Services: Website content

“Market it Write was able to take the content from my last website and transform it to my new one, making the content clear, informative and to the point. The clarity of the content has been so powerful that I have gotten several new clients based on my website. I found Mistina and her team to be easy to work with and very willing to listen to concerns and objectives and work through them in a very professional way.”  

Hiroto Takagi

“Many writers want to say things their way, but Market it Write understood exactly what I wanted to say—and that’s what they wrote. Market it Write works for me and for my business. I recommend the company to anybody who needs writing help.

 

Hiroto Takagi, Bryton Harry
Industry: Sports marketing   |   Services: Website content, marketing support

2015-04-25T18:52:52+00:00

Hiroto Takagi, Bryton Harry
Industry: Sports marketing   |   Services: Website content, marketing support

“Many writers want to say things their way, but Market it Write understood exactly what I wanted to say—and that’s what they wrote. Market it Write works for me and for my business. I recommend the company to anybody who needs writing help.  

Larissa Nycz Montecullo

“We have had the pleasure and opportunity to work with Market it Write on a daily basis over the past several months, and regularly for over a year prior. Their writing talent, attention to detail, and business savvy across industries make the Market it Write team an incredibly valuable asset to any company.”

 

Larissa Nycz Montecullo, Tribecca Designs
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content, marketing materials, ad copy

2015-04-25T18:50:56+00:00

Larissa Nycz Montecullo, Tribecca Designs
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content, marketing materials, ad copy

“We have had the pleasure and opportunity to work with Market it Write on a daily basis over the past several months, and regularly for over a year prior. Their writing talent, attention to detail, and business savvy across industries make the Market it Write team an incredibly valuable asset to any company.”  

Lee Angus

“I loved having Market it Write do the interviews and walk us through the drafts to the final version, and I was impressed with your ability to condense the story to meet our needs. It was also nice to have someone ‘outside’ write the story. The results seemed more objective than they would have been if I had written it.”

 

Lee Angus, Legacy Alliance
Industry: Professional services   |   Services: Corporate communication

2015-04-25T18:51:21+00:00

Lee Angus, Legacy Alliance
Industry: Professional services   |   Services: Corporate communication

“I loved having Market it Write do the interviews and walk us through the drafts to the final version, and I was impressed with your ability to condense the story to meet our needs. It was also nice to have someone ‘outside’ write the story. The results seemed more objective than they would have been if I had written it.”  

Joe Biondo

“Market it Write adds a level of professionalism, insight and creativity rarely seen in our industry. They consistently deliver exceptional marketing ideas, unique materials and solutions that have allowed us to move forward with our business development and marketing programs. They ‘get it’ and know how to articulate your message. They are true professionals, a pleasure to work with, and I would recommend them without hesitation to any business or organization looking to increase their business, membership and/or public image.”

 

Joe Biondo, Summit Investigations
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Sales letters, advertisement copy, website content

2015-04-25T18:48:07+00:00

Joe Biondo, Summit Investigations
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Sales letters, advertisement copy, website content

“Market it Write adds a level of professionalism, insight and creativity rarely seen in our industry. They consistently deliver exceptional marketing ideas, unique materials and solutions that have allowed us to move forward with our business development and marketing programs. They ‘get it’ and know how to articulate your message. They are true professionals, a pleasure to work with, and I would recommend them without hesitation to any business or organization looking to increase their business, membership and/or public image.”  

Samuel Vinicur

“Market it Write does fabulous work. Mistina's team takes the time to understand both their clients and their clients' audiences. I highly recommend engaging them for any communications efforts you have.”

 

Samuel Vinicur, TSS International
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Corporate communications, press releases

2015-04-25T18:48:35+00:00

Samuel Vinicur, TSS International
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Corporate communications, press releases

“Market it Write does fabulous work. Mistina's team takes the time to understand both their clients and their clients' audiences. I highly recommend engaging them for any communications efforts you have.”  

Adam Wolf

“Market it Write’s copywriting and editing acumen is only matched by their excellent client service and easy-to-work with demeanor. I’d recommend the firm for any marketing writing assignment.”

 

Adam Wolf, Wolf Communications
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content, copyediting

2015-04-25T18:51:53+00:00

Adam Wolf, Wolf Communications
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content, copyediting

“Market it Write’s copywriting and editing acumen is only matched by their excellent client service and easy-to-work with demeanor. I’d recommend the firm for any marketing writing assignment.”  

Stephen May

“Market it Write is amazingly adept at working as a team player on a variety of projects and has consistently proven to be a valuable asset. Bottom line: if you need creative and powerful writing for your marketing effort, look no further.”

 

Stephen May, Crescent Leaf Technologies
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content

2015-04-25T18:50:35+00:00

Stephen May, Crescent Leaf Technologies
Industry: Creative agency   |   Services: Website content

“Market it Write is amazingly adept at working as a team player on a variety of projects and has consistently proven to be a valuable asset. Bottom line: if you need creative and powerful writing for your marketing effort, look no further.”  

Arianne Andrusco

"Have I mentioned how wonderful you are lately? This is good stuff. It is such a pleasure to work with someone who hears the feedback and just gets it immediately. You really are making my job a lot easier. Thank you!"

 

Arianne Andrusco, NewYork-Presbyterian
Industry: Healthcare   |   Services: Direct mail campaigns

2015-04-25T18:45:55+00:00

Arianne Andrusco, NewYork-Presbyterian
Industry: Healthcare   |   Services: Direct mail campaigns

"Have I mentioned how wonderful you are lately? This is good stuff. It is such a pleasure to work with someone who hears the feedback and just gets it immediately. You really are making my job a lot easier. Thank you!"  

Gerald Pennington

“The Market it Write team has the ability to grasp what we want to accomplish and put those concepts into words quickly—faster than we could in-house. Whenever they communicate, they respect the demands of our schedules and politely get right to the facts.”

 

Gerald Pennington, Stryker Spine Global Marketing
Industry: Healthcare   |   Services: Employee newsletters, corporate communications

2015-04-25T18:49:09+00:00

Gerald Pennington, Stryker Spine Global Marketing
Industry: Healthcare   |   Services: Employee newsletters, corporate communications

“The Market it Write team has the ability to grasp what we want to accomplish and put those concepts into words quickly—faster than we could in-house. Whenever they communicate, they respect the demands of our schedules and politely get right to the facts.”  

Albert Barette

"Our executive staff reviewed the final product, and it was excellent. Thanks to you and your team for all your input and contributing to our new website. The vertical market sheets were also excellent."

 

Albert Barette, Bowles Security Group
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Brand strategy, website development, marketing materials

2015-04-25T18:46:25+00:00

Albert Barette, Bowles Security Group
Industry: Security & Investigations   |   Services: Brand strategy, website development, marketing materials

"Our executive staff reviewed the final product, and it was excellent. Thanks to you and your team for all your input and contributing to our new website. The vertical market sheets were also excellent."